{
  "name": "Benefits studied: research peptide findings by evidence level",
  "description": "What research found for each compound, one finding per row, ordered strongest evidence first, each with its evidence level and primary source. Animal and cell findings are labelled as such.",
  "source": "https://www.primaralabs.com/research/evidence",
  "lastUpdated": "2026-09-23",
  "licence": "Free to reuse with a link to the source page.",
  "schema": [
    {
      "key": "compound",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "Compound name."
    },
    {
      "key": "compoundId",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "Compound id."
    },
    {
      "key": "order",
      "type": "integer",
      "description": "Position in the compound's benefits block, strongest evidence first."
    },
    {
      "key": "headline",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "Noun-phrase headline."
    },
    {
      "key": "evidence",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "phase3, phase2, smallHuman or animalCell."
    },
    {
      "key": "evidenceLabel",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "The badge text."
    },
    {
      "key": "finding",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "One third-person sentence stating the finding."
    },
    {
      "key": "sourceLabel",
      "type": "string",
      "description": "Citation."
    },
    {
      "key": "sourceUrl",
      "type": "url",
      "description": "The primary source the row was read from."
    },
    {
      "key": "checkedOn",
      "type": "date",
      "description": "ISO date the source was last read."
    }
  ],
  "rowCount": 60,
  "rows": [
    {
      "compound": "Retatrutide",
      "compoundId": "retatrutide",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In TRIUMPH-1, a phase 3 trial in adults with obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related condition, without diabetes (n=2,339), mean body weight fell 28.3% on the 12 mg arm over 80 weeks, against 2.2% lost on placebo (efficacy estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Eli Lilly topline release, 21 May 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://investor.lilly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-delivered-powerful-weight-loss",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Retatrutide",
      "compoundId": "retatrutide",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Blood sugar control",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In TRIUMPH-2, a phase 3 trial in adults with type 2 diabetes and obesity or overweight lasting 80 weeks, a1C fell 1.4, 1.6 and 1.5 points from a baseline of 7.7% on 4, 9 and 12 mg, against 0.2 on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Eli Lilly topline release, 23 July 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://investor.lilly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-successful-two-additional",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Retatrutide",
      "compoundId": "retatrutide",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction with type 2 diabetes",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In TRIUMPH-2, a phase 3 trial in adults with type 2 diabetes and obesity or overweight (n=1,152), mean body weight fell 20.8% on the 12 mg arm over 80 weeks, against 4.0% lost on placebo (efficacy estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Eli Lilly topline release, 23 July 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://investor.lilly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-successful-two-additional",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Retatrutide",
      "compoundId": "retatrutide",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction with cardiovascular disease",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In TRIUMPH-3, a phase 3 trial in adults with severe obesity (BMI of 35 or more) and established cardiovascular disease, with or without type 2 diabetes (n=1,949), mean body weight fell 22.6% on the 12 mg arm over 80 weeks, against 3.2% lost on placebo (efficacy estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Eli Lilly topline release, 23 July 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://investor.lilly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-successful-two-additional",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Retatrutide",
      "compoundId": "retatrutide",
      "order": 5,
      "headline": "Knee osteoarthritis pain",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In TRIUMPH-4, a phase 3 trial in adults with obesity or overweight and knee osteoarthritis, without diabetes lasting 68 weeks, WOMAC pain fell 4.5 and 4.4 points from a baseline of 6.0 on 9 and 12 mg, against 2.4 on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Eli Lilly topline release, 11 December 2025",
      "sourceUrl": "https://investor.lilly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-delivered-weight-loss-average",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tirzepatide",
      "compoundId": "tirzepatide",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In SURMOUNT-1, a phase 3 trial in adults with BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more with at least one weight-related complication, excluding diabetes (n=2,539), mean body weight fell 20.9% on the 15 mg arm over 72 weeks, against 3.1% lost on placebo (treatment-regimen estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Jastreboff AM et al. N Engl J Med 2022;387:205-216",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa2206038",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tirzepatide",
      "compoundId": "tirzepatide",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction with type 2 diabetes",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In SURMOUNT-2, a phase 3 trial in adults (18 or older) with BMI of 27 kg/m2 or higher and type 2 diabetes with HbA1c 7-10% (53-86 mmol/mol), in seven countries (n=938), mean body weight fell 14.7% on the 15 mg arm over 72 weeks, against 3.2% lost on placebo (treatment-regimen estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Garvey WT et al. Lancet 2023 (SURMOUNT-2)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(23)01200-x",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tirzepatide",
      "compoundId": "tirzepatide",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Maintenance of weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In SURMOUNT-4, a phase 3 withdrawal trial (n=670), participants who continued tirzepatide after a 36-week lead-in lost a further 5.5% by week 88, while those switched to placebo regained 14.0%.",
      "sourceLabel": "Aronne LJ et al. JAMA 2024 (SURMOUNT-4)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2023.24945",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tirzepatide",
      "compoundId": "tirzepatide",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction against semaglutide",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In SURMOUNT-5, a phase 3b head-to-head trial in adults with obesity but without type 2 diabetes (n=751), mean body weight fell 20.2% on tirzepatide against 13.7% on semaglutide over 72 weeks.",
      "sourceLabel": "Aronne LJ et al. N Engl J Med 2025 (SURMOUNT-5)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa2416394",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semaglutide",
      "compoundId": "semaglutide",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In STEP 1, a phase 3 trial in adults with BMI of 30 or greater (27 or greater with at least one weight-related coexisting condition), without diabetes (n=1,961), mean body weight fell 14.9% on the 2.4 mg arm over 68 weeks, against 2.4% lost on placebo (treatment-policy estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Wilding JPH et al. N Engl J Med 2021;384:989-1002",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa2032183",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semaglutide",
      "compoundId": "semaglutide",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Cardiovascular events",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In SELECT, a phase 3 trial in patients 45 years or older with preexisting cardiovascular disease and BMI of 27 or greater, no history of diabetes (n=17,604), the primary endpoint, death from cardiovascular causes, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke, occurred in 6.5% on semaglutide against 8.0% on placebo, a hazard ratio of 0.80 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.90).",
      "sourceLabel": "Lincoff AM et al. N Engl J Med 2023 (SELECT)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa2307563",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semaglutide",
      "compoundId": "semaglutide",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Body-weight reduction with type 2 diabetes",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In STEP 2, a phase 3 trial in adults with BMI of at least 27 kg/m2 and HbA1c 7-10% (53-86 mmol/mol), diagnosed with type 2 diabetes at least 180 days before screening (n=1,210), mean body weight fell 9.6% on the 2.4 mg arm over 68 weeks, against 3.4% lost on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Davies M et al. Lancet 2021 (STEP 2)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(21)00213-0",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semaglutide",
      "compoundId": "semaglutide",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Two-year weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In STEP 5, a phase 3 trial in adults with obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity, without diabetes (n=304), mean body weight fell 15.2% on the 2.4 mg arm over 104 weeks, against 2.6% lost on placebo (treatment-policy estimand).",
      "sourceLabel": "Garvey WT et al. Nat Med 2022 (STEP 5)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1038/s41591-022-02026-4",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semaglutide",
      "compoundId": "semaglutide",
      "order": 5,
      "headline": "Maintenance of weight reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In STEP 4, a phase 3 withdrawal trial (n=803), participants who continued semaglutide after a 20-week run-in lost a further 7.9% by week 68, while those switched to placebo regained 6.9%.",
      "sourceLabel": "Rubino D et al. JAMA 2021 (STEP 4)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2021.3224",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "BPC-157",
      "compoundId": "bpc-157",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Interstitial cystitis symptoms",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In an uncontrolled pilot of 12 women with interstitial cystitis, 10 reported complete symptom resolution; there was no placebo or comparison group.",
      "sourceLabel": "PubMed 39325560",
      "sourceUrl": "https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39325560/",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "BPC-157",
      "compoundId": "bpc-157",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Knee pain",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a retrospective phone survey of 16 clinic patients, 14 reported knee pain relief; there was no control group and no validated outcome measure.",
      "sourceLabel": "PubMed 34324435",
      "sourceUrl": "https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34324435/",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "BPC-157",
      "compoundId": "bpc-157",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Tendon repair",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In rats with a cut Achilles tendon, BPC-157 improved mechanical, functional and microscopic healing measures compared with saline.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Orthop Res 2003",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/s0736-0266(03)00110-4",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "BPC-157",
      "compoundId": "bpc-157",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Ligament repair",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In rats with a surgically cut knee ligament, BPC-157 improved functional, mechanical and tissue measures of healing over 90 days.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Orthop Res 2010",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1002/jor.21107",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "TB-500",
      "compoundId": "tb-500",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Skin wound repair",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In aged and diabetic mice, the seven-amino-acid thymosin beta-4 fragment LKKTETQ promoted skin wound repair about as well as the full-length protein.",
      "sourceLabel": "Wound Repair Regen 2003",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1046/j.1524-475x.2003.11105.x",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "TB-500",
      "compoundId": "tb-500",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Cell wound closure",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In a cell scratch-wound test, the TB-500 breakdown product Ac-LKKTE showed wound-healing activity, while TB-500 itself did not.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Chromatogr B 2024",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jchromb.2024.124033",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "GHK-Cu",
      "compoundId": "ghk-cu",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Diabetic foot ulcer closure",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a randomised, evaluator-blinded, placebo-controlled trial of a GHK-Cu gel on diabetic foot ulcers, median ulcer closure was 98.5% with the gel against 60.8% with the inactive gel; the abstract does not state the trial's size or phase.",
      "sourceLabel": "Wound Repair Regen 1994",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1046/j.1524-475x.1994.20406.x",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "GHK-Cu",
      "compoundId": "ghk-cu",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Skin after laser resurfacing (no measured benefit)",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In 13 randomised patients after laser skin resurfacing, GHK-Cu skin care made no measurable difference to redness, wrinkles or blinded ratings, though patients rated their skin quality higher.",
      "sourceLabel": "Arch Facial Plast Surg 2006",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1001/archfaci.8.4.252",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "GHK-Cu",
      "compoundId": "ghk-cu",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Ligament graft healing",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In rats after knee ligament reconstruction, GHK-Cu reduced knee laxity at 6 weeks, but the difference had gone by 12 weeks.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Orthop Res 2015",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1002/jor.22831",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "GHK-Cu",
      "compoundId": "ghk-cu",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Fibroblast growth",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In cell culture, GHK-Cu shortened the doubling time of normal and irradiated human skin fibroblasts and raised their early output of growth factors.",
      "sourceLabel": "Arch Facial Plast Surg 2005",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1001/archfaci.7.1.27",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "KPV",
      "compoundId": "kpv",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Colitis",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice with chemically induced colitis, KPV reduced colitis and inflammatory cytokine expression.",
      "sourceLabel": "Gastroenterology 2008",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1053/j.gastro.2007.10.026",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "KPV",
      "compoundId": "kpv",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Recovery from colitis",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In two mouse colitis models, KPV-treated mice recovered earlier and regained more body weight, with less inflammatory infiltrate.",
      "sourceLabel": "Inflamm Bowel Dis 2008",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1002/ibd.20334",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "KPV",
      "compoundId": "kpv",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Colitis-associated tumours",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice with colitis-associated cancer, KPV prevented tumour formation; it had no effect in mice lacking the PepT1 transporter.",
      "sourceLabel": "Cell Mol Gastroenterol Hepatol 2016",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jcmgh.2016.01.006",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "KPV",
      "compoundId": "kpv",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Oral mucositis",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In rats with chemotherapy-induced mouth ulcers, KPV in an adhesive gel improved food intake and body-weight recovery.",
      "sourceLabel": "Biomater Sci 2022",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1039/d1bm01466h",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "NAD+",
      "compoundId": "nad",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Heart pumping function in heart failure",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a single-centre randomised trial of 180 adults with heart failure from ischaemic heart disease, with no phase stated, ejection fraction at one month was 45.44% on NAD+ against 42.44% on placebo; differences in clinical events were not statistically significant.",
      "sourceLabel": "Am J Cardiovasc Drugs 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1007/s40256-025-00764-7",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "NAD+",
      "compoundId": "nad",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Blood NAD levels",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a phase 0/1b randomised trial in healthy adults aged 45 to 75, an oral NAD+ formulation raised whole-blood NAD inside cells by 53% against placebo after five days; no clinical endpoint held up after correction for multiple testing.",
      "sourceLabel": "GeroScience 2026",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1007/s11357-026-02399-1",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "NAD+",
      "compoundId": "nad",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Heart muscle after blocked blood flow",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In pigs with a 90-minute coronary artery blockage, NAD+ given before blood flow was restored reduced heart muscle death and improved recovery of heart function compared with saline.",
      "sourceLabel": "PubMed 31632574",
      "sourceUrl": "https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31632574/",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "NAD+",
      "compoundId": "nad",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Brain injury after stroke",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice with a temporary stroke, NAD+ reduced the size of the damaged area, brain swelling and neurological deficits.",
      "sourceLabel": "Front Pharmacol 2023",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.3389/fphar.2023.1096533",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "MOTS-c",
      "compoundId": "mots-c",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Insulin sensitivity",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice, MOTS-c prevented insulin resistance linked to age and a high-fat diet, and prevented diet-induced obesity.",
      "sourceLabel": "Cell Metab 2015",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cmet.2015.02.009",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "MOTS-c",
      "compoundId": "mots-c",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Physical capacity in old age",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice, MOTS-c treatment started late in life increased physical capacity.",
      "sourceLabel": "Nat Commun 2021",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-20790-0",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "MOTS-c",
      "compoundId": "mots-c",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Autoimmune diabetes",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In non-obese diabetic mice, MOTS-c reduced the development of high blood sugar and immune-cell infiltration of pancreatic islets.",
      "sourceLabel": "Cell Rep 2021",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/j.celrep.2021.109447",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tesamorelin",
      "compoundId": "tesamorelin",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Visceral fat reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In a 26-week phase 3 trial of 412 adults with HIV and abdominal fat accumulation, visceral fat measured by CT fell 15.2% on tesamorelin and rose 5.0% on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Falutz J et al. N Engl J Med 2007 (tesamorelin phase 3)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa072375",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tesamorelin",
      "compoundId": "tesamorelin",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Triglyceride reduction",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In a pooled analysis of the two 26-week phase 3 trials (806 adults with HIV and excess abdominal fat), triglycerides fell 37 mg per decilitre on tesamorelin and rose 6 mg per decilitre on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Pooled phase 3 analysis, J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2010",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1210/jc.2010-0490",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tesamorelin",
      "compoundId": "tesamorelin",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Cognition in older adults",
      "evidence": "phase2",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 2 human",
      "finding": "In a 20-week phase 2 trial of 152 adults aged 55 to 87, some with mild cognitive impairment, the intent-to-treat analysis showed a favourable effect on a cognitive composite, mainly executive function; two later trials in other groups did not show a significant effect.",
      "sourceLabel": "Arch Neurol 2012",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1001/archneurol.2012.1970",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Tesamorelin",
      "compoundId": "tesamorelin",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Liver fat reduction",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a 12-month randomised, placebo-controlled trial of 61 people with HIV and fatty liver disease, with no phase stated, tesamorelin reduced liver fat fraction by an absolute 4.1 percentage points more than placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Lancet HIV 2019",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/s2352-3018(19)30338-8",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "CJC-1295",
      "compoundId": "cjc-1295",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Sustained growth hormone and IGF-1 rise",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In two small randomised, placebo-controlled trials in healthy adults aged 21 to 61, one injection of CJC-1295 (DAC form) raised mean growth hormone 2 to 10-fold for 6 days or more and IGF-1 1.5 to 3-fold for 9 to 11 days.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2006",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1210/jc.2005-1536",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "CJC-1295",
      "compoundId": "cjc-1295",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Growth hormone pulses preserved",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a non-randomised study of healthy men aged 20 to 40, one week after CJC-1295 trough growth hormone was 7.5-fold higher and IGF-1 45% higher, while the frequency and size of growth hormone pulses were unchanged.",
      "sourceLabel": "J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2006",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1210/jc.2006-1702",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "CJC-1295",
      "compoundId": "cjc-1295",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Growth in growth hormone-deficient mice",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In mice lacking growth hormone-releasing hormone, CJC-1295 treatment over 5 weeks produced normal body weight and length.",
      "sourceLabel": "Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab 2006",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1152/ajpendo.00201.2006",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Ipamorelin",
      "compoundId": "ipamorelin",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Gut recovery after bowel surgery (not shown)",
      "evidence": "phase2",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 2 human",
      "finding": "In a phase 2 placebo-controlled trial of 117 patients after bowel resection, ipamorelin did not significantly shorten the time to a first tolerated solid meal (median 25.3 against 32.6 hours on placebo).",
      "sourceLabel": "Int J Colorectal Dis 2014",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1007/s00384-014-2030-8",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Ipamorelin",
      "compoundId": "ipamorelin",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Growth hormone release",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a dose-escalation study in healthy men without a placebo arm, ipamorelin produced a single growth hormone peak at every dose studied.",
      "sourceLabel": "Pharm Res 1999",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1023/a:1018955126402",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Ipamorelin",
      "compoundId": "ipamorelin",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Selective growth hormone release",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In pigs and rat pituitary cells, ipamorelin released growth hormone without raising ACTH or cortisol, unlike the comparison secretagogues.",
      "sourceLabel": "Eur J Endocrinol 1998",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1530/eje.0.1390552",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Bremelanotide",
      "compoundId": "bremelanotide",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Sexual desire in premenopausal women",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In RECONNECT (studies 301 and 302), two 24-week phase 3 trials in 1,267 premenopausal women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder, the FSFI desire score improved by 0.30 and 0.42 points more than placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Kingsberg SA et al. Obstet Gynecol 2019 (RECONNECT)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1097/AOG.0000000000003500",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Bremelanotide",
      "compoundId": "bremelanotide",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Distress about low desire",
      "evidence": "phase3",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 3 human",
      "finding": "In the same two phase 3 trials, distress related to low sexual desire (FSDS-DAO item 13) fell 0.37 and 0.29 points more than placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Kingsberg SA et al. Obstet Gynecol 2019 (RECONNECT)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1097/AOG.0000000000003500",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Bremelanotide",
      "compoundId": "bremelanotide",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Satisfying sexual events",
      "evidence": "phase2",
      "evidenceLabel": "Phase 2 human",
      "finding": "In a 12-week phase 2b dose-finding trial in premenopausal women with female sexual dysfunction (efficacy population 327), satisfying sexual events rose by 0.7 a month on the pooled higher-dose arms against 0.2 on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Womens Health (Lond) 2016",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.2217/whe-2016-0018",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Bremelanotide",
      "compoundId": "bremelanotide",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Short-term body weight",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a 16-day phase 1 placebo-controlled trial in women with obesity, body weight fell 1.3 kg more on bremelanotide than on placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Diabetes Obes Metab 2022",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1111/dom.14672",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semax",
      "compoundId": "semax",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Recovery after ischaemic stroke",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a Russian study of 110 patients in rehabilitation after ischaemic stroke, the groups given semax had higher blood BDNF and better improvement on the Barthel index than groups not given it; the abstract does not state how patients were allocated.",
      "sourceLabel": "Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr 2018",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.17116/jnevro20181183261-68",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semax",
      "compoundId": "semax",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Quality of life in motor neuron disease",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In an open-label study of 27 patients with motor neuron disease, semax did not change clinical rating scales but improved total quality-of-life score.",
      "sourceLabel": "Europe PMC 18379501",
      "sourceUrl": "https://europepmc.org/article/MED/18379501",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semax",
      "compoundId": "semax",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "Resting brain network activity",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In 24 healthy volunteers, resting-state brain imaging showed a larger default mode network subcomponent within 20 minutes in the 14 given semax than in the 10 given placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Bull Exp Biol Med 2018",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1007/s10517-018-4234-3",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Semax",
      "compoundId": "semax",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Brain BDNF signalling",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In rats, one dose of semax raised hippocampal BDNF protein 1.4-fold and activation of its receptor trkB 1.6-fold.",
      "sourceLabel": "Brain Res 2006",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/j.brainres.2006.07.108",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Selank",
      "compoundId": "selank",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Anxiety symptoms against a benzodiazepine",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a Russian comparative study of 62 patients with generalised anxiety disorder or neurasthenia, selank and medazepam had similar effects on anxiety rating scales; there was no placebo arm and the abstract does not state how patients were allocated.",
      "sourceLabel": "Europe PMC 18454096",
      "sourceUrl": "https://europepmc.org/article/MED/18454096",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Selank",
      "compoundId": "selank",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Benzodiazepine side effects as an add-on",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a Russian study of 70 patients with anxiety-spectrum disorders, adding selank to phenazepam was reported to reduce phenazepam side effects compared with phenazepam alone; there was no placebo arm.",
      "sourceLabel": "Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr 2015",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.17116/jnevro20151156133-40",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Selank",
      "compoundId": "selank",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "GABA receptor modulation",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In receptor binding assays on brain cell membranes, selank acted as a positive allosteric modulator of GABA binding.",
      "sourceLabel": "Protein Pept Lett 2018",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.2174/0929866525666180925144642",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "Selank",
      "compoundId": "selank",
      "order": 4,
      "headline": "Enkephalinase inhibition",
      "evidence": "animalCell",
      "evidenceLabel": "Animal and cell",
      "finding": "In human plasma in the test tube, selank inhibited the breakdown of enkephalins in a dose-dependent way.",
      "sourceLabel": "Bull Exp Biol Med 2001",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1023/a:1017979514274",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "DSIP",
      "compoundId": "dsip",
      "order": 1,
      "headline": "Sleep in chronic insomnia (weak, mixed)",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a 1992 placebo-controlled study of 16 people with chronic insomnia, sleep efficiency was higher and sleep onset shorter than on placebo, but the authors judged the effects weak and not of major therapeutic benefit.",
      "sourceLabel": "Neuropsychobiology 1992",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1159/000118919",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "DSIP",
      "compoundId": "dsip",
      "order": 2,
      "headline": "Daytime sleep in healthy volunteers",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a 1981 placebo-controlled crossover study of 6 healthy volunteers, total sleep time in the following 130 minutes rose by a median 59% compared with placebo.",
      "sourceLabel": "Europe PMC 6895513",
      "sourceUrl": "https://europepmc.org/article/MED/6895513",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    },
    {
      "compound": "DSIP",
      "compoundId": "dsip",
      "order": 3,
      "headline": "ACTH levels (inconsistent)",
      "evidence": "smallHuman",
      "evidenceLabel": "Small human studies",
      "finding": "In a randomised crossover study of 11 healthy men, DSIP lowered blood ACTH-like activity for at least 3 hours with no change in cortisol; a 1995 placebo-controlled study found no effect on ACTH or cortisol.",
      "sourceLabel": "Psychoneuroendocrinology 1989",
      "sourceUrl": "https://doi.org/10.1016/0306-4530(89)90004-8",
      "checkedOn": "2026-09-23"
    }
  ]
}